ref

 

This week’s topic focused on the development of employability profiles.

Cherie´s blog evolved around the concept of online branding, and how it assists in creating authentic profiles. Her research has shown that you are more inclined to stay professional, as you are restricted on the content you can display. As a result, it limits the probability of impacting your career path negatively. I challenged her thought by asking whether she believed that having a strictly authentic online presence would appear too robotic, as it assumes that you do not have the need to promote yourself online. On my own blog Andy and I agreed that sharing personal experiences is a successful way of gaining a competitive advantage by differentiating yourself from potential candidates. Caiti also shared an article from Forbes which suggested to include personal sites such as Facebook in your social recruiting pages such as LinkedIn. It appears to me that there is a higher risk when combining personal and professional sites, but if used appropriately, can reward you extensively.

Rachel’s blog on the other hand, inspired me to attempt and create a more creative post title for next week’s topic. She also mentioned several case studies such as the Justine Sacco’s scenario, where an inappropriate tweet led to her losing her job. My initial reaction was fright, but after having discussed online criticism with David it shaped my view to keep an open mind. I am now more aware and likely to double check my tweets, posts and general information that I wish to publish.

This week’s topic has given me a realistic insight on the possible negative and positive outcomes that can occur in the online world. It has also given me useful overall tips on how I will develop my LinkedIn profile after I graduate.

299 words

Image: https://www.emaze.com/@AZLZQTTR/Reflection

